Jachin & Boaz:Missionary Field Report: Liberia, West Africa July 29, 2012


“Thus he set up the pillars at the porch of the nave; and he set up the right pillar and named it [f]Jachin, and he set up the left pillar and named it [g]Boaz.” 1 Kings 7:21 (f=he shall establish, g=in it is strength)

My new community is called Whein Town. I moved here about three weeks ago. It is a very remote area about a 10 minute drive to the University of Liberia.

Whein Town is sparsely populated with an estimated 1,000 residents. It is a interesting mixture homes of zinc houses and cement block homes. The zinc homes owned by the very poor and the cement block homes owned by the “middle class” for lack of a better word. They are literally sitting side by side one another. Liberia has no real zoning laws.

The air is fresher. My daily runs are exhilarating. I am in the middle of hills and mountains so I am becoming a stronger runner.

Every morning I hear the adhan, the Muslim call to prayer. So that tells me there is either a Mosque nearby and/or there are a significant number of Muslims in my area. I have been told there is also a witchcraft group of children in this area.

I have made a few new friends. One young man named Francis fills my barrels with water once a week and washes for me. He was recommended by my landlord. He lives with his sister and her husband. They are a nice couple. The husband is a Co-Pastor at a church in town. Francis’ aunt and two nieces also live in the same house. The aunt is a friendly lady and visits occasionally.

I like my new place. It’s quiet and small enough for one person. It is a two bedroom. I am using the second bedroom as my office. (Sorry I am at the Cafe and I just realized I only have a picture of my front door.)

I had the Country Director for Navigators over for lunch one afternoon. Mr. Viamashu has been laying the ground work for a Liberia chapter. He is looking at a late 2012 early 2013 start-up. Silvanus will collaborate with the Navigators in evangelizing to the lost in Liberia.

My studies are going well. I will be taking my exams for the first quarter the end of next month.

Thank you to all who support this ministry financially and through prayers.

His Grace,
Hattie

