A Typical Day In Liberia: Missionary Field Report: Liberia, West Africa, June 10, 2012

“It shall blossom abundantly and rejoice even with joy and singing.” Isaiah 35:2

Silvanus International Ministries Inc. is a non-profit organization.  Partnering with us is easy. Sow that others may grow!

There a 3 ways to cook in Liberia, wood fire, coal pot, kerosene stove. This is a coal pot.

Saturday, I didn’t run. I needed to get on the road by 7:00 AM to be able to get a taxi quickly. So, its up at the usual 4:00 AM, have morning meditation, make fire on coal pot using (duh) coal and rubber bands as kindle. I put a pot big enough to hold 3/4 gallon of water and boil it to bathe. I have a flask that I keep hot water in for tea and coffee. After bathing and dressing I make it on the Barnersville Road at exactly 7 AM. I begin making the hand signal that indicates I am going to town. This signal at this location resembles the sign you make as you are hitchhiking. I begin to pray. I always do this, after years ago I spent 4 hours on a road waiting for a taxi with an empty seat to stop for me.

After 6 loaded buses and 10 taxis pass me by, in 10 minutes, a taxi stops. These Nissan’s are small and meant to accommodate 4 persons tops. Liberians force feed 6 persons in one. As we go along one lady enters the taxi, “Driver, how much for in town?” “60 dollars in town,” he says gruffly. “Driver, I beg, I have 50 dollars.” “In town 60 dollars!” the driver shouts. She gets in the taxi and sits down. When we reach in town she hands him the 50 dollars. He takes the money and doesn’t even look at her.

I need to get money, buy small groceries, and do upkeep on myself. I like to use the “nail guys” on the street because they are cheap and actually they do a pretty god job. These guys take benches and align them on the sidewalk. If you want to keep up with the latest cultural trends, news behind the news, sports, and the concerns of the 18-35 year olds, who make up the bulk of the population, here is one place to stop.

I sit between a man who has a table with one box on top of it. This man appears to be about 40 yrs.old. Inside the box he has gift wrapping paper and tape. He wraps gifts or sell you the paper to wrap it yourself. In a society where the unemployment is 80% and little or no middle class, you do what you have to do. To my left is a young lady around 25 yrs. old selling costume jewelry. I didn’t get breakfast this morning so I stop the girl selling bread and hard-boiled eggs. “Which bread you want I got, $10, $15 and $25?” Determined to lose this last 10 pounds, “I’ll take 10 dollar bread, one egg and one mayonnaise.”

Sitting there getting my toes polished and eating my egg sandwich a tall slender woman stops in front of me begging. The wrapping paper man: “You can’t go sell water. There are old women at Red Light carrying water on their heads selling water.” Jewelry woman: “You go take off yo slippers, put plastic on top of your head and come beg.” The nail guy: “That’s just laziness. If you don’t want to go sell water, go make farm.” Wrapping paper man: Yeah, pure laziness. Look at you, you are not old. One or two gray hairs in your head, you a young woman.” A passerby stops: “Is she crazy?” “No, they all shout, she is not crazy.” She finally leaves in frustration. I buy $5 cold water when it passes by. Finish my errands and arrive back home around 12 spending the balance of my day studying my school lessons.

My summer classes, Pneumatology & Life of Christ

Pray with us.

His Grace,
Sis Hattie

One thought on “A Typical Day In Liberia: Missionary Field Report: Liberia, West Africa, June 10, 2012

Comments are closed.