From the Field: April 29, 2012

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ – Matthew 25:34-36 (NIV)

Our Honor students for the fourth academic period are: Herbert McClain, Sidiki Jabateh, Joy Appleton, Edet Samukai, we extend congratulations to all. We celebrated with a meal that was foreign to them yet proved to be delicious.  The honor students were served, “Aunt Jemima”  pancakes and syrup. Yummy, they loved them. Of course, I the cook had a couple as well.

Comments from parents regarding the Young Scholars after school program:

“….we are of the conviction that this program has helped our son to improve his learning capacity, keep him at home and above all else handle his lessons with care and determination.”  parents of Bill Sembeh

“This program means alot to our children and even we the parents, make the children to learn faster.” parents of Sidiki Jabateh

“”…..This program has all of the basic fundamentals and criteria a child will need to have a solid foundation and enable him to face the future ahead. I believe my child will know and understand the good value of education.” parents of Aloysius Howard

The following comments are from persons on our waiting list:

“I am applying for entrance because I want my child to be a better person tomorrow and move our country forward. I thank you.” parents of Dad Sieh

“I am applying for this program because I observed that this program add more knowledge to the children learning. Moreover, the program keep the children focused. In addition, the program enhance the mind of the children comprehension and the ability to read and write…… parents of Aaron Yengbie

“I need better education for my child, and with you as a forerunner I know that I can get the very best out of my daughter, with your uniqueness and good human religion I personally know that you can transform my child physically and morally.” parents of Mercing Slebo

As we begin to wind down for this academic year, we note that schools close between June 15 and June 30th. The Young Scholars program will shut down June 30th unless necessary funds are raised.

We need to raise operating funds of $58,000 for academic year 2012/2013.  (see our website www.silvanusinternational.org for details).

Pray with us and share our ministry info with your church, friends, relatives and colleagues.

Participating is easy just use the link provided  on this blog.

Or, use the following attachment for direct deposit. SILVANUS OPPORTUNITY CARD

Follow this blog for updates on our progress meeting our goal.  All contributions are tax-deductible.

Silvanus will remain committed to sharing Christ’s love “Building & Planting A Hope for the Future” in Liberia in the areas of literacy and Christian radio programing.

To God be the Glory,

Sis Hattie

